1931 Keokuk Indians
thingoldbar.jpg (2180 bytes)
The1931 Keokuk Indians won the pennant with Bob Rice as manager, and a record of 73-51 (.589 Pct.). Keokuk beat the Burlington Bunnies in a three game series for the championship, winning the first and third games. Burlington's record of 74-52 (.587 Pct.) shows the narrow victory of the Indians, and the excitement of those last three games.
1931 Keokuk Indians Here are the 1931 Keokuk Indians, Mississippi Valley League Champions. Left to right, front row: Charley Patton 2b, Bob Kalbitz 1b, Phil Kirchem c, Kirk Herrick of, Albert Fisher p, John Reider of, Joe Smith utility, and John Grilli of. Back row: L.S. Logan and Frank "Pa" Belt, directors, Bob Rice manager/3b, Bill Storey p, Pep Young ss, George Lambert p, Seldon Bryant p, Roger Wolff p, Maurice Ralston, Francis Weber director, J. G. Buss director, and Dr. Charles R. Logan, president.
At right is a photo of the night game at Joyce Park where the Keokuk Indians took on their affiliate Major League team, the "Gashouse Gang" St. Louis Cardinals. The game took place September 9, 1931. September 11, 1931 vs. Gashouse Gang
thingoldbar.jpg (2180 bytes)

Keokuk Baseball History Web Site - Internet Solutions, Inc.